A shift in priorities

So, it’s been nearly two weeks since my last rant. When starting this blog I had intended to post new entries perhaps twice a week, because, let’s face it, there is so much to rant about. But I’m not going to. Not for a while. Those rants about how only 20% of people consider changing banks despite being routinely screwed by theirs yet will turn against their government before its first term is even over which is so backward it’s ridiculous, or telemarketers, or the overuse of the word “journey” in reality TV contest shows, or Oprah, or those annoying bloody Windows 7 ads, or my inability to stay awake if I sit still for more than two minutes, or Facebook, or fugly room makeovers in lifestyle TV shows that are supposed to champion good taste, or house-and-land package housing estates, or 3D TV and Apple’s hyperactive updating of brand-new products that encourage us to buy buy buy lest we be left behind in the entertainment dark ages, or brain-fucked parents and grandparents who thoughtlessly abandon their child and grandchildren for a romanticised retirement abroad, will all have to wait. Or perhaps never be written at all. I’ll find other things to rant about, I doubt it not, when I return.

I know this is just a fledgling blog, and posting infrequently then disappearing for a while after only five entries is not a good way to start building a readership. And I really would like to build a readership. Eventually, I hope, I’ll do so.

In previous entries, I have been preaching that we should Demand Better. While I completely stand behind those comments, it would be hypocritical for me to do so without demanding better myself. Demanding better of myself.

I have responsibilities. I have three people in my life who need me to be a responsible adult. Who need me to get myself sorted out to be a better partner and a better father. I need to make some changes, important changes, changes that challenge some deeply ingrained behaviours. I need to work towards the life I want to have with these three most precious of people. I need to get my arse into gear and chase the career I want. At the age of 35, it’s  long overdue.

To do all of this, I need to focus. I need to pitch all of my energy into getting myself and my life sorted out.

To focus, I need less distraction. And as much as I enjoy blogging, at the moment, it’s a distraction. I’ve been spending precious thinking time composing blog rants in my head, along with other diversions, instead of thinking about the things that matter most. Instead of meeting my responsibilities. I have more important things to do right now.

The problems I’m facing are what has kept my other blog, Sketching Life, dormant since April. So now The Odd Rant joins it on hiatus, for the time being. I may be back occasionally, when I have something to rant about that I must get off my chest lest I explode.

I’ll be spending less time online in general. I’ll be tweeting, mostly from my mobile phone (username @shirleyschmidto if you’re interested) and if I know you, I might write to you on Facebook from time to time.

I’ll be back, in time. And ranting like nobody’s business. (I don’t really understand what this means, but I’m sure you get the idea.)

Thanks for visiting and I hope to see you here again. In the meantime, keep demanding better. You deserve it.

2 Responses to “A shift in priorities”

  1. A shame not to be reading more of your stuff, but I completely understand! Good luck with getting your stuff sorted and hope to see you back in no time 😀

  2. miss you already – but admirable reasoning 🙂

Leave a Reply

